Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

Pandora&

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

Regular price $23.94
/
  • Secure payments
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way
Shipping calculated at checkout.
In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma comes an "indispensable," (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look from the author of The Magic Feather Effect at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

If a piece of individually wrapped cheese can retain its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed to our children?

Former New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, university food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening--and sometimes disturbing--account of what we're really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally inferior food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.

Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented--and lightly regulated--world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called healthy foods.

Author: Melanie Warner
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Published: 02/25/2014
Pages: 279
Format: Paperback
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9781451666748

Payment by weight through FEDEX or DHL

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Recently viewed